Home Page

Brockhampton Primary SchoolOnly My Best

Home Page

Brockhampton Primary SchoolOnly My Best


Early Years Curriculum

In Pre-School and Reception the curriculum is based on Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

There are seven areas of learning within the EYFS which are displayed in the image below:

Areas of Learning and Development

Areas of Learning and Development  1
The ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’ underpin everything we do in Early Years. These  guide staff to reflect on the different ways in which children learn. The characteristics of effective teaching and learning are displayed below:
Picture 1

The curriculum is delivered through continual provision and small group activities designed to specifically target key areas of learning.


Our environment is specifically set up to provide children with access to a range of free choice learning opportunities which are initiated from their individual interests. We always ensure children have time to explore a range of aspects of learning and development: mark making (early writing); maths; creative; reading; communication; social interaction to name a few.


Whilst children have free choice of activities, highly trained staff will intervene when needed to move learning forward. Key learning points are modelled in circle time or scaffolded through group work or with individuals.


We have a key person system where staff are allocated focus children and parents to foster strong relationships with, to assist their transition. This system ensures your child’s learning is maximised through close observation and achievable targets.

Here are some useful links for EYFS documents;